Beng Hee proves a point

Posted: 30/03/2013 in Uncategorized

.

ONG Beng Hee is not going away anytime soon and even in his defeat to Nicolas Mueller at the CIMB Kuala Lumpur Open yesterday, the old warhorse showed he still has much to give.

The national champion has had to deal with talk that he is past his best after tumbling out of the world’s top-20 but his win over deposed KL Open champion Omar Mosaad on Wednesday and a close contest with Swiss Mueller proved otherwise.

“Today I showed that I can play at this level and I think this is the best I’ve played this year,” said Beng Hee, 33, after an energy-sapping 11-13, 11-9, 7-11, 12-10, 11-9 defeat to an opponent 10 years his junior at the Berjaya Times Square.

“It’s nice I could last this long but I’m disappointed with not being stronger on the big points in the fourth and fifth games.

“To say I’m not fit is not fair but I’ve been facing these negative comments ever since I passed 30. I’m just trying to show everyone that while I’m not going to be world champion, I can still play at the top level.

“I’ve not lost to anyone ranked below me and (World No 21) Mueller is the lowest-ranked player I’ve lost to. Six months ago he hammered me in 25 minutes but I think I’ve improved and I pushed him hard.”

Beng Hee, ranked World 22nd, only managed nine points against Mueller in their previous meeting at the CIMB Malaysian Open but it was a different player who took to the court yesterday.

The 2008 KL Open winner saved two game points to win the opener and led 5-1 in the fourth only for his Swiss rival to mount a comeback.

Beng Hee saved game ball to level at 10-10 but could not find the two more points he needed to make his sixth KL Open semi-final appearance as Mueller took the fourth and then the final game, albeit with two debatable “no let” decisions near the end including on match point.

“I think Beng Hee played well, he is a fair player and it was a tough match. I was a bit lucky in the end but I’m just happy to go through,’ said Mueller.

Spain’s Borja Golan ousted Tarek Momen 11-9, 7-11, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9 in a marathon 95-minute match to avenge his defeat to the Egyptian at the Malaysian Open which Momen went on to win last year.

Source: NST

Leave a Reply

